The state of California has burn laws put into place that are intended for both fire safety and to ensure healthy air quality. The laws were established by Title 17 of the California Code of Regulations and the the California Health and Safety Code Section 41800.
Regulations encourage Californians to find alternatives to open burning for the disposal of vegetation such as composting, chipping and curbside green waste pickup. However, the state acknowledges that open burning for trees and other natural vegetation is the most resource-protective way for people in some California counties. It can also be time and cost- efficient.
Always call and check to see what the burn days are for your area . Residential burning is strictly limited to one and two family homes for property maintenance. Check with your local fire district for rules that may vary with different times of the year.
Do not burn the following items.
- Treated wood
- Waste oil
Do not burn in barrels. It is illegal. Burn in a burn pile no larger than 4 feet by 4 feet. Some areas may require a burn permit or air pollution permit.
Never leave fires unattended. For added peace of mind and more information about homeowners insurance in the greater Palm Springs area, contact 1st Community Insurance today.